Surfing Waikiki
Surfing Waikiki

Oahu, the gathering place. Having grown up on Oahu I have been back to Hawaii several times in my adult life. My family often gets frustrated with the way I take it for granted. I mean, I’ve been there – done that. But this summer, in the wake of a much needed break, my husband suggested I take my 14 year old son to Hawaii to relax. I have never relaxed like I did at the Sheraton Waikiki. In fact, our days revolved around waking up and renting a surfboard for my son as I sat at the beach bar with my coffee and a good book for two hours. The service was completely friendly and hospitable. We then took the show on the road with strolls down Kalakaua, a trip to Ala Moana beach park (where we avoided the “no skateboarding” signs so prevalent in Waikiki), sunbathing on the beach just outside the hotel, making puka shell necklaces, and trying to get to see the sharks in Haleiwa (we got cancelled due to high winds). At night we had a variety of local and mainland foods to choose from along with the constant serenade of Hawaiian hula troops, guitars, ukuleles and singers up and down the Boulevard.

It amazed me…with no car, no plans, and no work…Waikiki offered us the relaxation I desperately needed and the kitchy, although sometimes cheesy tourist attractions that made our trip an absolute blast.

Yes, the waves are small in Waikiki. Yes, there are many tourists from all over the world swarming the beach and the “good” pool spots. Yes, there was little authentically “hawaiian” about the vacation. But if you wanted to relax in a beautiful, warm, friendly place then Waikiki is your spot. The Sheraton Waikiki is beautifully located right on the beach. The rooms and the service were wonderful. The food at this hotel was not good, but it was surrounded by great places to eat. Location is the key – If you want to be on the beach and in the center of shopping, food and entertainment, the Sheraton Waikiki is your spot.


